Raymond Chandler eBook Collection – 16 eBooks


Some of Chandler’s novels are considered important literary works, and three are often considered masterpieces: Farewell, My Lovely (1940), The Little Sister (1949), and The Long Goodbye (1953).

Author: Raymond Chandler


Raymond Thornton Chandler (July 23, 1888 – March 26, 1959) was a British-American novelist and screenwriter. In 1932, at age forty-four, Raymond Chandler decided to become a detective fiction writer after losing his job as an oil company executive during the Depression.

His first short story, “Blackmailers Don’t Shoot”, was published in 1933 in Black Mask, a popular pulp magazine. His first novel, The Big Sleep, was published in 1939. In addition to his short stories, Chandler published seven full novels during his lifetime (an eighth in progress at his death was completed by Robert B. Parker). All but Playback have been made into motion pictures, some several times. In the year before he died, he was elected president of the Mystery Writers of America. He died on March 26, 1959, in La Jolla, California.

Chandler had an immense stylistic influence on American popular literature, and is considered by many to be a founder, along with Dashiell Hammett, James M. Cain and other Black Mask writers, of the hard-boiled school of detective fiction. His protagonist, Philip Marlowe, along with Hammett’s Sam Spade, is considered by some to be synonymous with “private detective,” both having been played on screen by Humphrey Bogart, whom many considered to be the quintessential Marlowe.

The Long Goodbye is praised within an anthology of American crime stories as “arguably the first book since Hammett’s The Glass Key, published more than twenty years earlier, to qualify as a serious and significant mainstream novel that just happened to possess elements of mystery”

Raymond Chandler – Philip Marlowe 01 & 02 – Omnibus (v5)
Raymond Chandler – Killer in the Rain (v5.0)
Collected Stories – Raymond Chandler
Raymond Chandler’s Philip Marlo – Robert B. Parker
Raymond Chandler – Red Wind
Raymond Chandler – [Philip Marlowe 06] – The Long Goodbye (v5.0)
Raymond Chandler – The Simple Art of Murder (v5.0)
The Raymond Chandler Papers – Selected Letters & Nonfiction 1909 – 1959
Raymond Chandler – [Philip Marlowe 02] – Farewell, My Lovely (v5.0)
Raymond Chandler – [Philip Marlowe 03] – The High Window (v5.0)
Raymond Chandler – [Philip Marlowe 05] – The Little Sister (v5.0)
Raymond Chandler – [Philip Marlowe 04] – The Lady in the Lake (v5.0)
Raymond Chandler – [Philip Marlowe 01] – The Big Sleep (v5.0)
Raymond Chandler – Trouble Is My Business (v5.0)
Poodle Springs – Raymond Chandler & Robert B. Parker
Raymond Chandler – [Philip Marlowe 07] – Playback (v5.0)

(18.5 MB)



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Raymond Chandler eBook Collection – 16 eBooks”